Learning Project Update: Peaks and Valleys

One of my basketball coaches in high school once said that the basketball season had many peaks and valleys and that our goal should be to do everything we could do to make sure that we ended our season well on a peak.

Well I find myself in a bit of valley as it pertains to my learning project.

As you may recall everything was in line for me to get building my bike. I was awaiting the arrival of a few keys parts and as soon as they arrived I’d be set to get going on the work I had been preparing for over the past two months. In order to get the process started and ensure I’d have the bike built for my first race of the season (Sunday, March 22), I checked the bike in to my local bike shop to have them get the Shimano Di2 drivetrain and shifting set up and dialled. This was the single step in the build I was not planning on doing myself. Shimano suggests completing several modules of training in order to confidently install these parts. So with this all in mind I passed the bike on to my mechanics giving them the details of what I’d like them to complete and what I’d like them to leave me to do.

Two days later I paid the shop a visit to see how the work was coming along and low and behold not only had the parts I was waiting for arrived but they had been installed and the bike was in the final stages of being built. I was parts excited worried; excited to see my new bike almost done, worried as my learning project now had taken a serious curve. The way I saw it was that I had two options. Option one was to take the bike apart, strip it down to the drivetrain stage I had requested them to get it to, and build it back up from there. And option two was to leave it be, complete the build, and come up with an alternative way to show my learning. I’ve opted for the latter.

I’ve decided to take apart my winter bike and do a full service on all its parts after the months of rain, grit, and adverse riding conditions I’ve put it through. After the months of work I’ve put in to getting ready for building my bike I think this option would best serve to display everything I have learned.

So a new timeline, a new goal, and a new focus. In the meantime, feast your eyes on this…

The build:
Norco Tactic SL High-Modulus Carbon frame and fork
Shimano Dura-Ace Di2 11 speed derailleurs, crankset, cassette
Shimano Ultegra Di2 shifters
Shimano Ultegra brake calipers
Shimano Ultegra carbon pedals
Easton EC70 bars and post, Easton EC90 stem, Easton bartape
Schwable ONE HS tires
Shimano Dura-Ace C35 wheelset
Stages Power Meter
Specialized Romin Pro saddle

2 thoughts on “Learning Project Update: Peaks and Valleys

  1. Pingback: #LearningProject Final Reflection | esqedtech

Leave a Reply

