image

At about this time last year I was approached by my principal and asked if I would like to take part in a pilot project in our district, one that revolved around working with iPads to enhance learning and in my case specifically, literacy. Previous to this I had had a number of conversations with my principal about my interest in incorporating technology in my classes. I had no idea these conversations would lead me to such a meaningful and inspiring challenge.

I’ve spent the past 10 months working with an iPad Cart (equipped with 30 iPads and a macbook) and figuring out how it operates, what it’s moods are (and yes, it can be moody), and where it could lead our studies. I think by now at the conclusion of this pilot project, after many headaches and smiles, troubleshoots and successes, inquiry questions and learning presentations later, I can say with all honesty that this year’s work has been the most meaningful and exciting I’ve experienced in all of my years of teaching.

And I’m excited to see this work carried on next year in a strangely new fashion: I’ll be working with our grade 9 teachers at Esquimalt High School on incorporating the iPad Cart in to their curriculum. I’ll be supporting my colleagues in developing lessons with the iPad technology as a means to create and explore, record and share our students’ learning. Please follow us along through this blog as we share with you what we’re up to, how we’re doing it, and how it went.

Cheers for tuning in!

iPad Action Research Project

Leave a Reply

